The Lucky Seven: The Grandfather’s Blades

Wildcat’s Wife nominated me for the Lucky Seven. Now I am never one to shy from an opportunity to share this kind of thing, and – especially in recent weeks – I am coming to realise that the blogging community is filled with fantastic people. I feel privileged to be able to take part in cool activities like this.

The rules require me to post seven lines from an unpublished work of fiction by following these rules:

  • Go to page 7 or 77 in your current manuscript (fiction or non-fiction)
  • Go to line 7
  • Post the next 7 lines or sentences on your blog as they are (no cheating, please!)
  • Tag 7 other authors to do the same

Okay then, here are the 7 sentences from line 7 on page 77 of my current draft for “The Grandfather’s Blades.” In this scene, Keldirk, one of the protagonists, having just arrived in Del Mord, the largest city he’d ever seen, is reflecting on his past while thinking about the future.

    As a child growing up by Elgar Lake, Keldirk had always done what his mother and father asked of him. He never thought about the future, never expected anything from life, but to be a fisherman, like his father.
    Thank the Six that didn’t happen.
    All that changed when they sold him. The lake was fished out, and after several lean months, his parents could no longer support him. He could never forgive them for what they did, but he had to admit things turned out pretty well for him in the end. He had the whole world at his feet, and he planned to make the most of it.

This is still pretty rough. Even though I’ve been tinkering with this story for a LONG LONG time I know it still needs work.

Now, here are the seven people I’d like to pass the Lucky Seven torch to:

  1. Richard Leonard
  2. Kylie Scott
  3. Elin Gregory
  4. Wendy S. Russo
  5. Angela Quarles
  6. Skye Warren
  7. Leif G. S. Notae

Thank you again Wildcat’s Wife for the nomination and thanks for stopping by to read my Lucky Seven.

6 thoughts on “The Lucky Seven: The Grandfather’s Blades”

  1. Wow. Powerful 7. Will this be a drama, suspense? Parents sold him? Geez. I feel tears coming on now. Very good!!

    1. Hopefully epic fantasy, otherwise just epic fail 🙂 Keldirk is (in my view) the least likable of the characters, but I suppose he has a reason for being so bitter.

  2. Epic fantasy, eh? 😀 I really like epic fantasy. good luck with the fiddling.
    I’ve done mine – 7 sentences from the novel I’m editing at present and they even make a kind of sense. thanks for tagging me.

Leave a comment