Weekend Writing Warriors #124 – Revenant (Part 164)

Boy this week has just flown by. It being Sunday again means that Marcus gets to continue with his rant. This snippet continues immediately from last week, with Marcus speaking, so if you want to see what has come before then just follow this link.


The two of you have been walking on eggshells since he woke up. I know that you’ve been through the wringer with everything that’s happened but it doesn’t do to have our two most experienced space-farers distracted while the rest of us are out there risking our lives.
    “Now I admit it’s been a bit of a cakewalk so far, what with that airborne whosimawhatsit you developed, but in case you hadn’t noticed we’re in deep space and one hell of a long way from help. So I’d ask you both to stow this argument at least until we’re in a far less life threatening situation.” He shifted his gaze between the pair of them. “Am I clear?”
    Ryan’s mouth moved like a fish struggling for breath.
    “Let me help you out. This is the part where you say, yes Marcus, you’re right, how could I have been so selfish.”


I hope you’ve enjoyed my contribution to this week’s list, and thanks for stopping by. Click on the image below to see all the wonderful writers who are taking part in this weekly event. weekend-warriors

6 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors #124 – Revenant (Part 164)”

  1. I’m new around here, so I could be behind on this one, but is this written in second person POV, or is there an opening quotation mark missing from the beginning?

    I love the dialogue. It’s really strong and it flows naturally. The emotion (sarcasm, specifically in the last line) comes through well. I enjoyed this!

    1. Hi Holly, thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. To answer your question(s) the story is written in the third person and there should be a opening quote but the reason it’s missing is because this is the second sentence in this bit of dialogue. The first sentence started last week. I tossed up adding the opening quote but decided to leave it off to make the snippets properly follow the MS. 🙂 I hope that helps to clarify what is going on.

Leave a Reply

