Weekend Writing Warriors #77 – Revenant (Part 116)

Sunday again and that means its time for another 8 sentences from Revenant. As always these carry on immediately from last week. If you want to see what has come before then just follow this link.


    Sensors in his helmet compensated quickly enough to save his eyesight, but the wave of heat that followed left him breathless. Ryan lay there, his oxygen starved body gasping for air as a shape loomed out of the darkness. He crawled toward his gun, the blast having pushed it a few metres along the shaft.
    “Hope you’re not planning to shoot me with that?” Marcus’ voice said in his ear.
    “Why shouldn’t I?” Ryan managed between breaths. “A little warning might have been nice.”
    Marcus shrugged. “I told you to get going. Not my fault if you have trouble understanding English.”


I hope you’ve enjoyed my contribution to this week’s list, and thanks for stopping by. Click on the image below to see all the wonderful writers who are taking part in this weekly event. weekend-warriors

9 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors #77 – Revenant (Part 116)”

  1. Well glad it’s not worse! I really like the beginning, especially the line “his oxygen starved body gasping for air as a shape loomed out of the darkness” and the image of him crawling desperately for his gun, out of reach. Great snippet 🙂

  2. Great snippet as always (I’ve been following your wewriwa posts via email for the past few months) Love the line “Not my fault if you have trouble understanding English.” Funny.

    1. Thanks Heather. Despite how long the story has been going I still have no idea how its going to end. This 8 sentence per week format keeps even me in the dark 🙂

Leave a Reply

