Weekend Writing Warriors #39 – Revenant (Part 78)

I spent the day in the garden yesterday, and today I am nursing a myriad of small aches and pains, my soft desk bound body is not cut out for extended periods of manual labour. The sad part about all this is that I have more work to do before the garden is done so I have more pain to look forward to. This garden had best be worth it 🙂 So it is with much joy that I take a break from injuring myself to give you another 8 sentences from Revenant.

As always, these sentences carry on immediately after last week’s snippet so if you want to refresh your memory about what’s happened you can simply follow this link.


    “How much time do you need?”
    “Um … maybe another minute.”
    Before Ryan could respond, the first of the husks rounded the corner at a run. Ryan swung the barrel of his rifle toward it and squeezed the trigger. The creature’s torso vaporised, and its limbs hit the floor with a wet slap.
    “Try and work faster,” he said, as a second husk came into view, followed a heartbeat later by two more.
    Ryan fired again and again. The narrow gap between the shelves made it impossible for him to miss, but each time the creatures got closer.


I hope you’ve enjoyed my contribution to this week’s list, and thanks for stopping by. Click on the image below to see all the wonderful writers who are taking part in this weekly event. weekend-warriors

5 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors #39 – Revenant (Part 78)”

  1. Oh my, best be working some magic here pretty quick. Got me at the edge of my seat this morning. Hope the garden goes well, and you aren’t too punished by it! Fresh veggies are a great payoff : )

Leave a Reply

