Weekend Writing Warriors #31 – Revenant (Part 70)

Yesterday Australia voted for who will lead our country for the next four years. It was the classic fool’s choice, between a narcissistic megalomaniac, and an ignorant xenophobe. For many weeks it has caused me to question the very merits of democracy. Democracy might ensure that people get a say in who leads, but it can do nothing about ensuring the quality of that leader.

The ignorant xenophobe won.

Oh well, the next four years will be interesting. To the people of the world, I would like to apologise in advance for anything that our duly elected representatives might do to embarrass us on the world stage. 🙂

I would also like to thank you for sitting through my little political rant, especially since that’s not why you are here. Your understanding is appreciated.

In keeping with the theme of leadership, this instalment of Revenant seeks to establish a way forward, and calls for decisiveness. As always, if you want to refresh your memory about what’s happened you can simply follow this link.


    Kassandra stopped walking and looked at Ryan. The look on his face sent a shiver through her. “I can understand your concern, Ryan, really I do, but we can’t solve a puzzle with only half the pieces.”
    “Purgatory is all we have left,” he said. “Find another way.”
    “There is no other way.”
    Ryan’s jaw tightened. “Then, Doctor, we continue the mission as planned.”


I hope you’ve enjoyed my contribution to this week’s list, and thanks for stopping by. Click on the image below to see all the wonderful writers who are taking part in this weekly event. weekend-warriors

6 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors #31 – Revenant (Part 70)”

  1. I love their determination. I enjoyed this intense snippet. On a personal note, I do hope that the next four years are not that bad with your new prime minister. I had no idea about the elections there, and Australia is definitely on my bucket list.

Leave a Reply

