Weekend Writing Warriors #4

Hello all and welcome to my fourth weekend writing warriors post. This week I am returning to a short story I wrote as part of the Fantasy Faction short story anthology competition. Sadly my work didn’t make it in to the book but I still had fun writing it. I shared the opening six sentences of this story a few weeks back as part of Skye Warren’s Sunday Six, you can read those by clicking here, and this week’s 8 sentences will follow on soon after that previous post left off.


    Her head felt sticky and she pulled her hand away to reveal blood. Gently she prodded the wound. It didn’t feel like her skull was cracked.
    She bent over to tear a strip of cloth from her shirt and winced from a sharp, stabbing, pain at her side, possibly from a cracked rib or two. Stupidly, she took a deep breath to assess the damage. The smoke filled air entering her lungs triggered a coughing fit that almost caused her to black out. She froze, waiting for the pain to subside before moving again.
    “Idiot!” Truly she wasn’t thinking clearly.


I hope you’ve enjoyed my contribution to this week’s list, and thanks for stopping by.

Click on the image below to see all the wonderful writers who are taking part in this weekly event.
weekend-warriors

7 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors #4”

  1. Nice visceral details. It’s difficult to accurately describe pain, but I think you nailed it here. Nicely done.

  2. I like the details, Goran, but I’m surprised she felt no pain while probing the wound on her head. I think you could draw us in more strongly by giving us her reactions to what she feels as she assesses the damage. The second paragraph was great for that. 🙂

  3. Nice work. I imagine coughing with cracked ribs would hurt really badly. Agreed with Siobhan about the pain in her head. That combined with the ribs would knock me out. Your character is one tough cookie.:)

Leave a Reply

