Weekend Writing Warriors #2

Thanks to everyone who stopped by last week and hello to all the new and returning visitors.

This week’s snippet is taken from an ongoing serial novel I am writing as part of the Story Time blog. It’s a paranormal thriller set in New York in 1963. If you want to read the story so far then just click here.

This scene is a conversation between Kade and Trish (who is a vampire herself) concerning how best to attempt to extract some information from a vampire that they have taken prisoner.


    “Time is the only effective threat you can make against an immortal. Believe me, I know how it feels to have a limitless future suddenly feel like it’s been reduced to a few minutes.”
    Kade thought about that for a moment. “You’re saying that I should make him think I’ll kill him.”
    “Not exactly.”
    “Then what?”
    Trish looked at him meaningfully. “I mean you’ve got to make him believe you won’t kill him.”


There you have it. I hope you’ve enjoyed my contribution to this week’s list, and thanks for stopping by.

Click on the image below to see all the wonderful writers who are taking part in this weekly event.
weekend-warriors

15 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors #2”

  1. Great to see a new story and genre, Goran. Not that I didn’t like your zombie monsters in space. Looking forward to seeing where you take this one.

    P.S. The bar pic is off Sxc.hu – you just need to check beneath any pictures you use that it says standard restrictions apply under availability.

    1. Thanks Kylie. I am 32k words into this one and am hoping to finish this story in the next couple of months then have it edited and ready for publication before November. Its the 50th anniversary of the JFK assassination and this book is set in the weeks leading up to that event.

    1. A few people have come to that conclusion so I think I need to revise this passage so its clearer. They are supposed to be discussing the best way to interrogate a vampire. Threats of injury or other forms of torture won’t work since they heal completely so they needed to come up with a more compelling way to motivate him to talk.

  2. Ah the physiological reverse thing. Nicely played. I like it’s set in the 60s. I don’t read much from that era even though I grew up in it. I’ll e looking for next week’s snippet.

Leave a Reply

