NaNoWriMo Tribute – You guys rock

This morning I felt a disturbance in the force, as 10,000+ souls sighed in relief at reaching the end of an epic month of writing.

I wanted to take some time to write this post to acknowledge the dedication and effort that the NaNoWriMo participants displayed. I certainly couldn’t have done it and to anyone who managed to get through it with both a finished book and their sanity has my admiration.

I’m sure though that there’s more work to do. Now that you have a 50k word manuscript behind you the real work starts in editing, tweaking, rewriting, etc…

I know you might not be at the end yet but you have done something amazing. Be proud of it…

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Tribute – You guys rock”

  1. Cheers, Goran!
    It’s a bit weird reaching what really is an arbitrary milestone and not actually having finished the story. At least in my case. But it certainly felt like a marathon effort. Being on par for a while then dropping back makes you feel like you’ll never get back on target but we did it. I found that looking at fellow Nano’ers stats graphs there was a lot of dropping back mid-month only to catch up in the last few days to finally cross the line. Well done everyone!
    Now, Goran, you said “I certainly couldn’t have done it…” That’s exactly what I thought myself. I get the impression you may spend more hours writing that I do and yes, to do NaNo you do need to put some things aside for a month (eg, for me: Story Time contributions, 6SS, blog reading and commenting, etc.) but with some perseverance and an eye on that 1667 daily word average, you can do it. If I went in with 2 days notice and no idea for a plot, anyone can do it! 🙂
    It certainly helped my bad habit of editing on the fly. There’ll be no time for that!
    So will we see you in 2013?

    1. Editing on the fly is definitely something I am guilty of… the sad part is that despite doing it the writing still needs a lot more editing 🙂 If NaNoWriMo can cure me of that habit then perhaps I’ll jump on board next year.

Leave a Reply

