Review: Mistborn – The Final Empire

This post will include my review of the book The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson. It is the first volume of the Mistborn series, released in July 2006.

The text below is taken from the blurb on the back of the book.


For a thousand years the ash fell.

For a thousand years the Skaa slaved in misery and lived in fear. For a thousand years the Lord Ruler, reigned with absolute power and ultimate terror, divinely invincible. Every attempted revolt has failed miserably.

Yet somehow hope survives.

A new kind of uprising is being planned, one that depends on the cunning of a brilliant criminal mastermind and the courage of an unlikely heroine, a Skaa street urchin, who must learn to master Allomancy; the power of a mistborn.

Once again I am astounded that I am only just reading this series now. How could I have missed such a gem for so many years before finally deciding to pick it up? I guess I will just have to stand up and admit to being foolish.

This is a good story, the world is interesting with plenty of history and depth to keep the curiosity flowing and the magic system is excellent. I must say that allomancy is probably one of the most impressive magic systems that I have seen in fantasy so that alone makes me rate this book highly.

The characters of Vin and Kelsier were likable despite some of the horrible things they did, and the plot was engaging. Probably the one negative is the other characters, they didn’t feel quite as real to me as Vin and Kelsier and while it didn’t detract from the story it did occasionally make the conflicts less pivotal since I didn’t really care about them as much as I might have otherwise.

If, like me you haven’t yet read this series, then remedy that immediately. This book is good and sets in motion a series of events that I am looking forward to reading more about in the rest of the series.

One thought on “Review: Mistborn – The Final Empire”

Leave a Reply

