The Next Big Thing: The Grandfather’s Blades

I was tagged by author Monica Enderle Pierce to do The Next Best Thing Challenge. I’m not 100% sure my book is ready for that moniker yet, but thanks for thinking of me, Monica. 🙂

Here’s how it works:

  • Answer the 10 questions below
  • Spread the fun and tag other writers to participate.

1. What is the title of your book / WIP?

It’s called “The Grandfather’s Blades”

The name stems from the title given the ruler of The Family of Assassins. He is referred to as the Grandfather of Assassins and the protagonists are his to command.

2. Where did the idea for this book come from?

The story started life as a homebrew face-to-face role playing scenario for Dungeons and Dragons way back in the early 90’s. We played the game for a few years then started chronicaling the sessions in an online serial. It first went online in 1996 but I still have the original files. You can see Episode One at this link: http://www.assassins.org.au/oldsite/Detl-001.htm

The characters and the story I am writing was inspired by these original games but it’s changed a lot since those old stories were written.

3. What genre would your book fall under?

Definitely Epic Fantasy

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I’ve always wanted someone to ask me this… so this should be easy, except that these characters have lived in my imagination for so long that suitable actors have come and gone. The current batch of potentials are here:

For Craven (the hero) I see Craig Horner who played Richard Cypher in the Legend of the Seeker TV series.

For Keldirk (the other hero) I picture Alfie Allen who plays Theon Greyjoy in Game of Thrones.

For Tara (the antagonist of sorts) I picture Grace Holly. She’ll need to be made to look a little older but she definitely has the right look for Tara.

5. What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

For an assassin, killing comes easy, it’s the living that’s hard.

6. Is your book published or represented?

My book isn’t even finished yet. 🙂 I hope to convince an agent or a publishing house to pick it up but I think the odds of that will increase substantially once it’s actually finished.

7. How long did it take you to write it?

As I said earlier the characters and the seeds of the story have been running around inside my head for the better part of 20 years. But I sat down to seriously start writing about 18 months ago. I work furiously on it for a few months, then put it aside to mature while I distract myself with other things.

Right now I’m about 50% of the way through my 5th draft so I know that it’s getting close, but there’s still more work ahead before it is worthy of circulating to prospective agents.

8. What other books in your genre would you compare it to?

I would like to think it sits somewhere between Scott Lynch’s Lies of Locke Lamora and Joe Abercrombie’s Best Served Cold. Lynch for his guilds, well defined urban setting, and complex society, and Abercrombie for the excellent gritty world he brings life to, and the characters he peoples them with.

9. Which authors inspired you to write this book?

See above. 🙂 Scott Lynch and Joe Abercrombie are certainly two of my current favourite authors along with Brandon Sanderson to round out the numbers. But before them was the late David Gemmell. He’s the one who taught me that you don’t have to be a good person to be a hero. People are complex and actions cannot always be labelled as right or wrong. Context and intent matter greatly. Lynch and Abercrombie exemplify this in modern fantasy and Brandon Sanderson is just a bloody phenomenal writer.

10. Tell us anything else that might pique our interest in your book.

I’d hate to make a bunch of statements here that will cause a rush of demands placed on publishers to print my book immediately when it’s not finished. So I’ll refrain from answering this question right now, thereby sparing them a flood of telephone calls, emails and tweets (see how good I am to you publishers and agents – I hope you’ll remember this when the time comes).

I hope you’ve found my answers interesting and I thank you for the time you;ve spent reading this.

The torch must now be passed. And I pass it thusly:

Siobahn Muir

Ciara Ballintyne

Cara Michaels

Thanks again Monica. It was fun.

4 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing: The Grandfather’s Blades”

Leave a Reply

