Six Sentence Sunday #35 – Revenant (Part 15)

It has been a very busy week. Have you ever had one of those weeks where you feel like you are late for everything and nothing seems to get done? Well that was my last week. I failed to do any of my regular writing activities and even this six sunday was at risk. The six sentences below are therefore my attempt to regain control of my schedule and force the universe into some semblance of order. I’ll let you know how I go. 🙂

As always, this scene picks up immediately following last week’s six sentences, so if you want to catch up or need a recap then just follow this link.

Here we go…

    Three things confirmed the proper working of the artificial gravity systems. First, the indicator in his display turned green, then the tangled mass of stilled husks fell to the floor with a sickening crunch, and finally the weight of his armour settled on him like a mother’s embrace; familiar, somewhat awkward, yet comforting nonetheless.
    Atmospheric pressure and ambient warmth would take longer, but the environmental systems had also restarted smoothly. More than a century had passed since their last restart, followed by a decade lying dormant, without the slightest bit of maintenance. It was amazing that anything still functioned.
    Soon, a procession of green indicators danced across his vision as one after the other, ship’s systems came online bringing the Francis Drake back to life.

You can find the wonderfully talented and endlessly supportive Six Sentence writers by clicking on the image below

.

14 thoughts on “Six Sentence Sunday #35 – Revenant (Part 15)”

  1. Fascinating image of a ghost ship being resurrected. I also like that these transitional scenes maintain a chilling undercurrent which keeps me wondering when the next crisis will erupt. Great six, Goran!

    p.s. Did I actually get my comment in ahead of Kylie? Lol

    1. It actually started out as lovers embrace but once I added the awkward bit that no longer felt right. The mother’s embrace fit that discription much better I think. 🙂

    1. Thanks I thought about the ship names a lot. There were quite a few options but in the end I figured that they’d name the colony ships after those explorers who first opened up the continents of earth for colonisation.

  2. First of all, *love* the ship’s name! And I also really loved this metaphor: “like a mother’s embrace; familiar, somewhat awkward, yet comforting nonetheless.” Great 6!

Leave a Reply

