Six Sentence Sunday #31 – Revenant (Part 11)

Last week ended on a cliffhanger so I won’t mince words introducing this one.

As always, this scene picks up immediately following last week’s six sentences, so if you want to catch up or need a recap then just follow this link.

Onto the story…

    The magnetic locks in his boots held him in position while the mindless creature pounded him with its fists; each punch felt like a hammer blow. The restart process engaged seconds later, but it seemed like an eternity before Ryan was able to lower his arms.
    He released the boot locks with a thought, and pushed back hard against the console. With no gravity to hold him down, he flew across the room, evading the second husk as it bore down on him.
    He slammed into the far wall, the bulk of his armour crushed the husk grappling him, it’s bones shattered by the force. The broken mass of flesh stopped moving, but four husks now stood between him and the rifle which still floated beside the console.

You can find the wonderfully talented and endlessly supportive Six Sentence writers by clicking on the image below

.

14 thoughts on “Six Sentence Sunday #31 – Revenant (Part 11)”

  1. This “pushing back hard” kind of turned me on. Lots of action. I love this fast-past story. I feel like I’m watching a movie!!

  2. I could almost hear that husk’s bones crunching. Lurve Ryan’s calm in the midst of a storm. I’d want him on my team for sure.

    One little note, when you said he released the locks, it took me a moment to realize you meant the boot locks. Took me out of the story for a second. Just an FYI for when you’re editing. 😉

  3. Just love action. So one husk – nice word – he can crush but four might be too much for him hand to hand. Can’t wait to see how he improvises. Keep up the good work!

  4. Okay, my heart’s pounding as if I’m there in the room with him and I can feel the dread just from the description of where the rifle is in relationship to the ‘husks’. Nicely done, Goran. I’m really enjoying your story. 🙂

Leave a Reply

