Versatile Blogger Award

I’d like to say thank you to Richard for this nomination, you can visit his blog at http://richardleonard.wordpress.com. I’m sure he’d love it if you popped in to say hi.

For those who don’t know (and that included me) the Versatile Blogger Award is a way for the online community to get to know each other better. To foster a general feeling of fraternity and well being among one another. The idea is to acknowledge the person who nominated you (check), then reveal seven (7) things about yourself to the world (see below), and then to suggest up to fifteen (15) excellent people/blogs you’d like to pass the torch to (see further below). So here goes:

  1. I once played a trumpet solo before Prince Charles and the late Princes Diana. It sounds more impressive than it is as it lasted for a mere 15 seconds or so and I was part of youth orchestra at the time (note to self: I really should leave this last bit out and just go with the headline).
  2. I am a geek. If I’m not frustrating myself putting words together I am tinkering with technology building websites, writing code, and generally not getting enough exercise.
  3. Related to point 2 is that I enjoy Role Playing Games. Not the computer/console type ones (though they can be fun at times) but the face-to-face table top variety. I have a weekly game where we play Dungeons and Dragons mostly but occasionally (read rarely) branch out with others.
  4. I have a degree in Archaeology and History from Monash University. After a trip to Europe in 1999 I was inspired to learn more about all the fantastic places I visited and generally try and understand how we got here. So I went back to uni and did that – I never regretted it it was an amazing eye opening experience.
  5. Johnny Depp is an amazing actor. Enough said.
  6. I believe that it is not possible to get sick of pasta or pizza. If I am ever asked to name my desert island foods pizza and pasta will always feature because they are almost limitless in their variety. I guess I just love my carbs (refer to point 2 and see if you can spot my dilemma).
  7. I wish I could draw. I rock with stick figures, but anything even approaching recognisable art is beyond me.

And the nominees (in alphabetical order) are:

  • Ciara Ballintyne – Ciara was one of the first writers that I connected with online and she has always been a source of inspiration in her devotion to the craft. Through her I was introduced to a wonderful community of supportive and talented people. Visit her blog – it’s packed with useful stuff.
  • Eric B. Thomasma – Every week I see one mention of me and my site on twitter, all unprompted and always appreciated. So here is my chance to give something back. Thank you Eric for being so generous with your endorsement of my work.
  • Matthew Williams – This guy is prolific. Post after post after post its relentless, but thankfully (for me at least) he writes about cool stuff I like. The coolest spaceships in science fiction, the best ways to kill zombies, killer robots, need I go on? As you can see it’s fabulous so what are you waiting for?
  • Mistress of the Dark Path – I first met Susan on the Kindle Message Boards, and have been a fan of her blog ever since. She has it all. Book reviews, short story contests, advice, humour, its the full package. Check it out and you won’t be disappointed (unless you were looking for muscle cars, it doesn’t have any of those).
  • Monica Enderle Pierce – One of the great people I met through my Six Sentence Sunday experience. Her work recently reached the semi-final stage of the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award. A damn fine effort and definitely worthy of praise.
  • Siobhan Muir – A wonderful person who has been very supportive to me as I navigate my way through this online writers world. I can’t say enough nice things about her.
  • Sirra – Sirra introduced me to (and perhaps invented) Stabby Love. This is a concept of brutal honesty that pulls no punches but is aimed at offering advice for improvement. Put simply, Sirra is amazing, but stabby love is not for everyone.
  • Six Sunday – Not so much a blog as it is a portal to many, many other blogs. Six Sunday has been my religion for the past 30 weeks. I have spent hours reading these fantastic snippets of other people’s work. I’ve met some great people there as well. If you have a chance get involved its fun and you’ll be surprised how addictive it can be.

I know there aren’t fifteen nominations up there (I’m assuming that a nomination for Richard’s blog is implied) but I wanted this list to mean something and all of the people up there have made a difference to my literary dreams in a positive way. Thank you to them and thank you once again Richard for thinking of me. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Versatile Blogger Award”

  1. Congratulations on the award, Goran! Thanks for nominating me as well. Sorry about the lack of muscle cars on my blog, I’ll see if I can’t work out something one of these days. For this month, though, you’ll just have to settle for zombies in the writing contest. That’s close enough, right? 🙂

    Oh, and I agree Johnny Depp is an amazing actor!

  2. Congrats! Trumpets, stick figures, and archaeology. Very, VERY cool. I love reading about other sixers. You have an interesting life! See ya Sunday!!!!

Leave a Reply

