Six Sentence Sunday #27 – Revenant (Part 7)

I really do want to thank everyone who leaves a comment for their words of encouragement and their ongoing support. I must say that I absolutely love coming home from work on Monday (the time difference makes it so) and seeing all your fantastic comments. It is this more than anything that keeps me inspired to continue with posting this story. That and the fact that zombies in space just seemed like a really cool idea 🙂

As always, this scene picks up immediately following last week’s six sentences, so if you want to catch up or need a recap then just follow this link.

Onto the story…

    He recovered his rifle, and tagged each of the bodies, comparing their corrupted DNA against the crew manifest he downloaded earlier. He had to make sure that the Doctor was not among them, this ship would be useless if she’d been turned.
    She wasn’t.
    Then, with his weapon once more held to his shoulder, he took his first step onto the ship.
    With the artificial gravity switched off, he relied on magnets built into his shoes to secure him to the floor, and walking with them on was never easy. He carefully picked his way forward, ever vigilant, as he negotiated several sealed bulkheads to reach the engineering section at the rear of the ship.

You can find more Six Sentence writers by clicking on the image below

.

16 thoughts on “Six Sentence Sunday #27 – Revenant (Part 7)”

    1. Thank you I am enjoying writing this but I must admit it is very hard to limit myself to just these six sentences. Given what I’ve embarked on at this pace it will be years before the story is anywhere near finished. 🙂

    1. Always good to read feedback like this. 🙂 Thank you very much and I hope I can maintain the standard for the duration. I think I have a long road ahead, hope you’ll stay with me to the end.

  1. I can tell from your writing, this guy is brave and curious. Personally, I couldn’t get on ship, but he is and is about to change course. Yes??! Omg!! Exciting.

  2. Zombies and artificial gravity–the possibilities boggle my mind! I’m loving this, Goran. Count me in. 😀

    1. I have thought about writing ahead but I worry that it will make the weekly installments less fresh. I find that concentrating on just 6 sentences focuses me in getting as much out of the limited words as I can. If I write ahead I might be tempted to degenerate into occasional waffle. And if I was to write ahead I’d hate to have to make people suffer through less interesting bits until we get to what I thought was a “good part”. This way I find I stay excited about it each and every week. Though I still wish that maybe one week Six Sunday could be Twelve Sunday or even Sixty Sunday… 🙂

      1. Ah, very good point! Keeping to that structure must concentrate the mind very nicely.
        I forgot to register this week so have posted a big chunk just because i could. 🙂 The big difference, as you point out, between writing a whole story 6 sentences at a time and picking 6 sentences from an existing work is that in the second case the sentences are taken out of context. Your way works bettwer as a reader experience.

  3. Great snippet. I’m enjoying where this story is leading. Where IS the doctor? Great six this week, Goran. 🙂

Leave a Reply

