Six Sentence Sunday #24 – Revenant (Part 4)

This is the fourth installment of my Six Sunday Serial, Revenant. As before, this scene picks up immediately following last week’s six sentences. If you want to see the story so far please follow this link. I promise that next week he will actually leave the room he’s been standing in since the story started, but I wanted to set the scene for what comes next and six sentences is a teasingly small number to try and do that in quickly. I thank you for your patience 🙂

So here goes…

    The lights above the airlock showed green, his ship was now firmly attached to the dreadnought’s side.
    Implants embedded in his brain allowed him to control ship systems with a thought, and now that the link was in place, that control also extended to the derelict. At least it would once he restarted the reactor, until then, he’d have to do things the old fashioned way. Schematics appeared on his visor; the Drake’s engineering section was about fifty metres away, and getting there was his first priority.
    Preliminary scans indicated that, apart from the cryo-storage units in the ship’s hold, there were no other life signs aboard, but he’d been on sleeper ships before.
    It wasn’t the living he needed to worry about.

You can find more Six Sentence writers here.

14 thoughts on “Six Sentence Sunday #24 – Revenant (Part 4)”

  1. Great idea. Six sentences at a time. With little time I have, I may adopt your method.
    I read your story, and quite frankly, the first paragraph threw off my interest, and I skimmed past it, then I read the next several sentences, and it’s quite a clever notion for a story, and your descriptions are great. Keep going!

  2. Don’t be trying to give me nightmares tonight. Good lord. Your last sentence has me turning on every light in my house! And, BTW: you should consider having that last line be your story’s book tag line.

  3. I love the last line, Goran. It sent chills up my back. Great job creating a story six sentences at a time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

