Six Sentence Sunday #7

I’ve been getting many encouraging comments from the last few sixes so I’ve decided to continue with examples from my current WIP, The Grandfather’s Blades. This is a scene involving Tara, who also featured in Six Sentence Sunday #5.

    “Listen lady, I don’t know you, and I’m not interested in waiting any longer. He’s used up all his chances, so unless you can pay me right now, he’s shit outta luck.”
    Interesting. In her experience, most men would’ve requested an ‘alternative’ form of payment. That he didn’t, suggests he’s a professional. The threat level just went up. “I can’t let you kill him.”
    “Then we’re going to have a problem.”

I should probably get round to doing a six that actually includes the main characters in the story, but I’m having too much fund with these. 🙂

You can find more Six Sentence writers here.

10 thoughts on “Six Sentence Sunday #7”

  1. I like the set up of the problem and the inherent threat in his response. It’s a great snippet as usual, Goran.

    Sorry your link got deactivated. I suspect you’ll get more responses if you visit the other blogs and comment. Happy holidays. 🙂

  2. Great excerpt, Goran–yep, I’m looking forward to meeting the MCs too, but these are great characters already. I like how you fit in a lot of action–tension, too–into so few words. Thanks for sharing!

    1. Hi Olivia.

      Thanks for the enthusiasm. I appreciate it.

      This book will hopefully be a real paper book. I am in the process of writing the final draft which I then need to get edited and undertake the (long and scary) query process.

      Tara also appears in Forged in Blood, my short story which is available only on kindle (though there are PC, Mac and Phone versions of the kindle app).

      All going well I’ll be able to announce a publication date sometime next year. 🙂

  3. I hope you all realise what a tremendous source of motivation it is to read the comments on these posts.

    Thank you again and I feel sad that there is no SSS next week. Oh well, the next one will just have to be twice as good… no pressure 🙂

Leave a Reply

