Fantasy Fight Scenes

When reading fantasy novels there are times when you come across a really good fight. Now I’m not talking about huge battles with armies of thousands clashing on the field, the sea or seiging a city. I am talking about combats between individuals.

Below is some sample scenes that Ihave been putting together that represent some of these memorable moments, where two highly skilled warriors face each other in a fight to the death.

This list is far from exhaustive. In fact it is my intention to keep adding to it over time, because reading these scenes is inspiring as well as educational. So if anyone out there has come across a scene that left them feeling wowed, then please let me know and I’ll add it. My only wish is that I’d started putting this together sooner. 🙂

So here is what I have so far. I’d love hear your thoughs about what I have here, and any suggestions for ones I might include in future posts.

Joe Abercrombie

Steven Erikson

David Gemmell

One thought on “Fantasy Fight Scenes”

  1. Of these I think my favourite – purely based on the excerpted narrative – is the battle between Brys and Rhulad. I like the way it describes the movement of the weapons along with the combatants.

    In terms of emotional appeal my favourite is the battle between Decado and Padaxes. I remember when I first read it I thought; wow, that was cool.

Leave a Reply

