A time for #AmWriting

This week my job of 15 years in the IT department of a large Australian financial institution comes to an end. What is next for me is still up in the air but I am fortunate to be able to take a few weeks away from the pressures of a full time job to relax and enjoy life. I also plan to do as much writing as I possibly can in that time.

In recent months I have been doing bits and pieces here and there. I have tried to fit the crafting of words around the rest of my life and I have been happy with where things are at. But right now I have this amazing opportunity to do this on a more full-time basis.

I must say that I am absolutely energised by the idea.

Today has been a particularly good day for me. I received some great feedback for my current WIP which is now a whole lot closer to being ready. Plus, I got the green light from the copyright holder for my next project. I won’t go into too much detail about that one just now but this next project is something that holds a huge amount of sentimental value to me. It takes me back to the earliest days of my love of reading and books in general.

I seem to be in a perfect storm of ideal situations and I hope that I use this time wisely and don’t squander this real opportunity that I have to do something that I really enjoy. There’s a quote – that has been attributed to both Harvey Mackay and Confucious – that says if you find something you love to do, you’ll never have to work a day in your life. I don’t know if this will ever allow me to refrain from getting another job in IT, but I think I might have fun finding out.

3 thoughts on “A time for #AmWriting”

    1. Hehe… Fortunately I wasn’t sacked, but I know what you mean. Don’t know about being on the dole – it might be a while before that happens – but in the meantime its all about the words 🙂

Leave a Reply

