A New Beginning

I decided it was time to start again.

After completing the first draft of the manuscript I sent it off for some professional advice and the feedback I received (while completely valid) meant that I had some serious rework to do.

So rather than be daunted by the prospect of giving up the words I had invested so much time on I decided that the best way to fix things would be to start again. And I can tell you it was the best decision I made.

As I gained knowledge and spoke to more and more people about what is involved in delivering a quality manuscript I saw this as the opportunity to avoid the mistakes I made initially – no sysnopsis, no clear understanding of PoV, show don’t tell, info dumps, etc. So this time around I feel like the entire story is coming together much better and much easier than it did before.

The most surprising thing I found though was that I do not have the feeling that I am covering the same ground. This may seem strange given the fact that I am rewriting the same story with the same characters and the same events but in truth I feel like it is all happening for the first time.

So I have now finished the newest incarnation of the opening chapter and I have put it up on this site. So if you want to read Chapter 1 just click the link.

As always I would love to hear from you. If you have any comments, questions or suggestions just add them below and let me know what you think.

One thought on “A New Beginning”

Leave a Reply

